Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There has been a controversy about whether international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. I agree with this statement, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, it adversely affects the locals ' daily life. As we know, before tourism was discovered, the local resources and personal living space could satisfy the locals ' demands, and they lived quite harmoniously. However, since tourism was discovered, it has attracted hundreds and thousands of tourists to come annually. As a result, there has been a growth in the population density, and it renders the local price to become more expensive. Therefore, such a change infringes upon the locals ' interests largely and brings about friction between tourists and local residents. Second, it causes pollution. It has been reported that tourism renders pollution from two aspects mainly. One is from transportation, and one is from accommodation buildings. It's expected that when tourism in a certain place is developed, it bounds to attract tourists to come. Those visitors will take either vehicles or planes. As a consequence, those transportations make a substantial contribution to the local air pollution and carbon emissions. Besides, some buildings, such as hotels, consume a large number of resources, like electronic resources and water resources, which can cause a local resource shortage. It's worth mentioning that on account of the number of visitors, the garbage they create largely outweighs the amount the destination can tackle. Hence, the detestation of locals to visitors might grow. On the other hand, tourism can help to preserve the local culture. It's commonplace that a tourist attraction is usually famous for its environment; nevertheless, its economy is bleak simultaneously. Thus, due to the development of tourism, their unprecedented cultures have evolved into core attractions. It can be said that tourism plays an essential role in protecting the local culture. In conclusion, tourism has merits and demerits, and I believe its disadvantages outstrip its advantages.