Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or an organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is not exaggerated to say that we are living in a world where there is freedom in every aspect such as making decisions on where to work and how to work. As a matter of fact, a tendency of freelancing is clear to see in our society nowadays. I, myself, partly agree with both ideas for the following reasons. There are 2 main factors that lead to this circumstance, which means while it is up to personal preference in various details, one might think that another logical explanation for the resignation might be an unsatisfactory job as well. What can be better than taking “workplace” as an illustration? Some may be keen on working at home or anywhere they feel comfortable, not just in an office where there are many existences. Even though there are designated professional departments that take responsibility for running the overall managing process, what they devote might fall short of staff’s expectations. Apart from that is a benefit of being flexible as freelance workers are able to adjust their timetable to apply for other jobs to earn more income. To paraphrase, the workers have the advantage of freely creating whatever without any limits when they work for themselves. Apart from those positive effects are some inevitable adverse conditions. Although it is good to be independent, a job with independence is sometimes quite risky because of its instability. A clear fact is that freelancers may not have benefits in insurance such as unemployment insurance, and they will not have any advantage if there is a legal issue as it is definite that they have to deal with the problem on their own. Another example of a typical drawback is time management. Particularly, it is not easy to get used to a job without a fixed schedule. Besides being good at time-managing, working without any management requires excellent expertise in their field. It seems that quite a lot do not have what it takes in terms of the ability to tackle any unexpected situations and take responsibility for any faults coming up. Therefore, this type of work might not suitable for everyone, especially for the ones whose experiences are not large enough to independently earn their living. In conclusion, although the trend of self-employed is dramatically rising, like a double-edged sword, people who chose to be self-employed would have some unavoidable drawbacks, the most worrying one of which is instability, many people have chosen to work independently, not under the control of any other parties. In other words, anything has its pros and cons, but it is so promising of freelancing if we know how to optimize its effective and efficient uses.