Some people believe that global warming is today’s most pressing environmental problem. At the same time, some consider deforestation to have the most devastating impact on the world. Discuss both views and give your opinion on the same.

Of late, the question of which poses a greater danger to our survival from global warming and deforestation forms the backbone of many conflicts in a number of circles. While some people believe that the effect of global warming, and extreme weather conditions, are more far-reaching and, therefore, more concerning, some others are of the opinion that the rapid depletion of our forest cover caused by deforestation leads to more serious consequences like soil erosion, air pollution, and loss of habitat. In my opinion, the impact of deforestation is more immediate and is, therefore, to be taken relatively more seriously. Firstly, global warming gives birth to extreme weather conditions like scorching hot summers, incredibly heavy rainfalls, and brutally cold winters. On average, the Earth’s temperature is rising by 1.5 and falling by 2.2 degrees Celsius in summers and winters, respectively. In this regard, while deforestation only impacts the local areas where the forest cover is reduced, global warming also impacts regions like Antarctica, where the problem of deforestation is not as grave. So, many people consider global warming to be the paramount concern when it comes to the survival of human life. In contrast to the former viewpoint, some people strongly believe that deforestation is the more immediate cause of concern because of the shorter gestation period. We can see its repercussions like soil erosion, loss of wildlife, increase in cO2, and droughts, among other problems. Recently news showed that after the state government of a metropolitan area ordered to cut down trees to procure more land to build complexes, as a result, wild animals were seen roaming the streets. As if this wasn’t enough, the amount of carbon dioxide rose, and the area was flooded by the monsoon soon after. To recapitulate, I believe that desertification is more concerning than global warming because of its immediate impact on the local environment, and the people and government need to work in tandem to curb this practice in their district.