Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is acknowledged that more patients are curing their sickness on their own instead of seeking help from general practitioners. In my opinion, I partly agree that this is an adverse tendency for the reason I will mention below. Health check on your own can cut down medical cost and sometimes is more efficient than meeting up with health professionals. First and foremost, it is cheaper to do your research on your health complications since it does not include the operating fees of the hospital and the doctor. In fact, US residents annually spend an exorbitant amount of money on healthcare, and the only way to reduce it is by self-involvement. Another fact is that many cultures provide traditional ways of curing a disease which can aid individuals with faster healing times. As a result, it is normal to witness people treating their sickness conventionally in manifold countries such as Vietnam or Thailand. In terms of the negative, most pills that are sold online without a medical doctor recommendation are falsely claimed and have not been authorized by the authorities. Some medicines, which are regularly advertised on social media platforms, claim to be immensely helpful for curing a host of health complications. Thus, attracting buyers but do not work as suggested. In fact, they might even lead to contracting worse sicknesses as they have not been certified. For instance, the sunflower treatment is widely known as a healing potion but it has caused people to have diarrhea and cancer. Overall, there is no doubt that more patients are self-treating their illnesses instead of seeking medical attention from their general practitioners. Based on the reasons I mentioned above, I agree that this is a negative development.