Competition between older and younger people. Nowadays more and more people who need employment have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are the solutions?

In many workplaces, it’s a common conflict between older people and young people. In my opinion, this can impact staff moral in numerous ways and can be solved by involving competent management and hiring practices. In aged-diversified workplaces, issues may arise easily between younger employees and older employees. For instance: when new young employee joined the organization who is well versed with the skills required in the modern technology or the freshness or ideas young employee bring to the team which makes the old employee to feel insecure about his/her positions as he/she may not well very versed with the advancement of technology or the insecurity of preference of younger people over older once/ difference of remuneration given to younger people will impact the morale and efficiency of work or vice versa. In case of young employees, they may not feel comfortable with the environment or culture or may be the older employees make the situations difficult for new bee’s as they always have the advantage of being legacy employee Thus, rift among old and young employee can badly impact the performance of employee and create unhealthy environment in the team which can be taken care by management intervention and competent hiring. Management can play a crucial role in striking a balance between older employees and young employees. It can segregate the duties among staff, maintain a healthy environment and introduce cross trainings between older and young employee in -order to exchange knowledge and skills, hiring of competent staff, encourage team bonding activities which boost the morale of employee and maintain healthy competition among employees and give equal attention to each & every employee irrespective of the age will reduce the chances of such problems. To conclude, issues between young people and older employee can be taken care by effective measures by hiring of competent staff, cross-trainings, equal treatment, team bonding activities and actively management intervention will combat such situations in the team.