Some people believe that global warming is today’s most pressing environmental problem. At the same time, some consider deforestation to have the most devastating impact on the world. Discuss both views and give your opinion on the same.

Of late, the question of which poses a greater danger to our survival from global warming and deforestation forms the backbone of many conflicts in several circles. In contrast, some people believe that the effects of global warming, and extreme weather conditions, are more far-reaching and, therefore, more concerning. Some others believe that the rapid depletion of our forest cover caused by deforestation leads to more severe consequences like soil erosion, air pollution, and loss of habitat. In my opinion, the impact of deforestation is more immediate and is, therefore, more serious. Firstly, global warming gives birth to extreme weather conditions like scorching hot summers, hefty rainfalls, and brutally cold winters. On average, the Earth’s temperature is rising by 1.5 and falling by 2.2 degrees Celsius in summers and winters, respectively. In this regard, while deforestation only impacts the local areas, conversely, global warming also impacts regions like Antarctica, where the problem of deforestation is not as grave. So, many people consider global warming the paramount concern when it comes to the survival of human life. In contrast to the former viewpoint, some people firmly believe that deforestation is the more immediate cause of concern because of the shorter gestation period. We can see its repercussions like soil erosion, loss of wildlife, increased cO2, and droughts, among other problems. Recently news showed that the state government of a metropolitan area ordered to cut down trees to procure more land to build complexes. As a result, wild animals were seen roaming the streets. As if this wasn’t enough, the amount of carbon dioxide rose, and the area was flooded by the monsoon soon after. To recapitulate, I believe deforestation is affecting the environment more seriously and is more harmful as compared to global warming in the long run. Therefore, the people and government must work in tandem to curb this practice in their districts.