Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are reformers today who argue that adults and young people should be treated equally under the law. In my opinion, despite the ostensible fairness of this proposal, I agree that it disregards crucial psychological differences. Those who believe all ages should receive equal treatment, point out that this will engender a greater deterring effect. The main reason that all individuals in society are punished is not for justice alone, but as a means to ensure others will not commit similar crimes. Youngsters learn in school and the world generally that their actions will have consequences and that crimes are punishable with prison time and other penalties. If these censures are weakened, then the chances a young person will attempt to commit a crime will logically increase, even if the total number of juvenile delinquency is lower than at any point in human history. However, age is a just mitigating factor. Adults who commit crimes have had more time to develop socially and intellectually while adolescents do not fully grasp the consequences of their choices for themselves and others. For instance, there have been recent cases where teenagers were influenced by extremist elements now pervasive in social media. Adolescents are more impressionable in these situations and often lack the confidence and maturity to think for themselves. This vulnerability extends to their emotional and intellectual development and justifies laws that protect youngsters from receiving overly harsh sentences. In conclusion, though there are practical reasons to support equal punishments for all ages, this alteration would be unfair to young people. Courts should consider a range of factors before selecting an appropriate punishment.