Sports which are violent, such as boxing and wrestling have no place in a civilised society and should be banned. Do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, it is quite common in sports like rugby and football to involve violent contact between players, which leads to injury. Other sports, like boxing and wrestling, in particular, have the deliberate intention of hurting the opponent. It is highly debatable whether this is acceptable in modern society when at all other times we try to emphasise co-operation and team spirit, training people not to be aggressive and not to resort to violence when in conflict with others. However, I don’t completely agree with the fact that they should be banned. I will explain the same in the upcoming paragraphs. It should be borne in mind that cruelty is inherent in society and banning violent sports like boxing will not alter this. On the contrary, institutionalising and controlling violence in boxing clubs can help change this. Boys, who would otherwise be part of street riots can be taught to direct their energies positively. In turn, they can be trained to be better members of society. Besides, organised sports follow elaborate rules, and medical facilities are always on hand; so, no one should be seriously hurt in a fair and peaceful game. Moreover, even combat sports offer advantages to society in several ways. It is an appropriate way of enhancing the health of the community if people exercise rigorously. And then, such sports can also be used as a defence mechanism in several dangerous circumstances. While women can use it against molesters, men can use it to protect themselves from burglars. Also, by putting taxes on the sports industry, the government can easily acquire money for social causes. While there are advantages, it should not be overlooked that dangerous sports like boxing and wrestling, even in a controlled and institutionalised form, are highly disturbing. In conclusion, the prohibition of violent sports is not necessary for the well-being of society. Controlling the violence and imposing stricter rules would help better. At the end of the day, everything can make a place in society if done in a civilized and limited manner.