When choosing a job, salary is the most important decision. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People argue that payment from a job is the most essential factor for accepting a work agreement. While I accept that this perspective is somewhat justifiable, I personally believe that there are also other elements contributing to the decision-making of a job seeker than only salary scale. On one hand, most people prioritize a financially viable career because of several driving factors. Firstly, a high-paid job plays a decisive role in ensuring employees’ basic needs. This is because getting a lucrative income could allow people to cover their expenses of living standard, such as monthly bills for housing, food, health care, and even travel, which could also improve their quality of life or even lead to a carefree life. Furthermore, one of the best rewards in career development is a competitive salary. For instance, a pay rise and bonus are offered to employees by the board of directors if they are able to achieve the quarterly sales target, and this could be a factor in increasing their motivation and enthusiasm for their work performance. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that a number of candidates have different motivations apart from salary while selecting an occupation. One reason is that job satisfaction gives them a sense of fulfilment. Therefore, a significant number of young people in Vietnam are giving up their well-paid positions, like bankers or financiers, to do jobs which pay less but that they find more enjoyable and less stressful, thereby boosting their energy and creativity or even career progression. Another reason is that social contributions should be put into account while confirming a job offer. For example, many high-paid lawyers working a 9 to 5 job in the city agree to get lower pay so that they are able to work remotely from a mountainous area where they could dedicate time to helping poor children, and thus, this makes them feel delighted and fulfilled. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that salary has a decisive role to play in choosing a career ladder, I would contend that it is imperative that other factors should be taken into consideration before making a career choice.