It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Encountering failures has always been an intrinsic part of life. Though it possesses potential demerits, from my perspective, I firmly believe that embracing risks is a requirement for an individual to flourish in life and career. Firstly, it is clear that risks are necessary for one’s competencies to be discovered. In fact, repetitive and familiar practices cannot reveal hidden abilities or even passions due to their unchanged need for known skills. Hence, it is vital to admit that latent talents can only be seen when one escapes from the comfort zone to venture and therefore broaden the horizon and open a new career path. An illustration is that many prestigious actors have found their passion for acting and earned themselves blooming careers by audaciously changing from ordinary and mundane occupations into desired jobs, resulting in their subsequent satisfaction and riches. Secondly, no significant achievements in professional life can be obtained without accepting potential failures. Obviously, the business environment is extremely competitive and those who are not ready for ventures could be eliminated. As a result, the feature of willing to self-challenge and experiment with novel approaches that have never been employed is required for workers and businessmen to become exceptional, thereby ensuring job security and even business success. An example is that Google, an unprecedented search engine and a stunning innovation, was established in 1998 and since then has greatly impacted the world and made its founding magnates thriving and profoundly influential. In conclusion, despite all the possible drawbacks brought by risks and failures, I strongly believe that they can be eclipsed by the prospect of success it may offer to every individual in terms of personal fulfilment as well as career and business development.