With recent developments in technology like e-books, some people feel that printed media like books, newspapers, and magazines will soon be a thing of the past. Others believe that these forms of media will never disappear. Discuss both opinions.

With the development of modern technology, people tend to use more smart devices like phones, tabs, laptops and etc. This, compelled humans to attract online reading more and more. Therefore, some people think that hard copies of books, newspapers and magazines will be disappeared in the future while others lead the idea of opposition. The below essay describes both views with examples. On the one hand, online reading is becoming more popular each year among both young and elderly crowds due to the benefits it has. Because of a huge number of stories, information or data can be stored in a small device for later reference. This gives the opportunity of taking e-books and newspapers along with human beings while they travel. And also, provides various other pros to the readers such as adjustments in lighting effects, text sizes and editing facilities. Hence, even older people can easily read the contents of the text. Furthermore, young people and students can keep notes on the same pages which helps with their studies. Since lots of e-books can be downloaded freely and at low-cost people who are not affordable to spend a lot of money can easily access these media. As an example, research done by Google shows that 78% of the younger generation is using e-books and e-libraries for their coursework. On the other hand, online reading makes long-term irritations in eyesight. Since all generation is used to working on smart devices for a long period especially, in dark backgrounds at night time. Doctors recommend not to use blue screens for a very long period which is damaging the nerve systems in the brain. Moreover, by lots of skimming people can lose details in a particular article. Because of these reasons, some crowd believes that hard copies of books and other reading materials will never expire from society. By providing more support on behalf of this belief, the Japanese government has prohibited kids from taking smart devices to school.