Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports play an indispensable role in enhancing people’s physical and mental well-being. Nowadays, sports admirers can opt for a wide range of athletic activities. Some opine that they can benefit more from team sports while others argue in favour of individual sports. This essay will analyze the rationale behind both opinions, and from my perspective, the choice of sports should be based on personal preference. On the one hand, playing in a team has undeniable positives. First and foremost, it is an ample opportunity to get to know other people. For example, a football team typically consists of eleven players, which means that each one can be exposed to ten different personalities and mentalities and therefore broaden their mind. In addition, team members can sharpen teamwork skills by collaborating with others. They have to learn to eliminate egotistic and selfish thinking to become part of a solid, united team in order to win the game. On the other hand, individual athletes enable one to stand out. In team sports, personal accomplishment might be overshadowed. Meanwhile, there is only one person in the spotlight when he/she becomes the winner of a sports competition such as the Australian Open. Moreover, individual sportspeople do not have to deal with internal conflicts between team members. It is a stress relief allowing them to concentrate on training in lieu of bothering with non- sports matters. Hence, their productivity can be significantly boosted, and higher challenges can be conquered. In conclusion, after analysis, I realize that each type of sport has its own merits and suits different mindsets. While team sports might be favoured by sociable people who like socializing and do not mind resolving disputes, introverts seem to fit in better and thrive in individual sports. Thus, it is irrational to affirm one is better than the other; instead, the choice should be left up to personal inclination.