The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the view that advertisement should be prohibited completely, considering the ruinous impact. In my opinion, though it might be a way to reduce the bad influence of advertising, at the same time, we should not neglect its positive benefits from it. Setting more strict standards and rules to diminish the bad sides and enhance the good sides by regulating the market could be a better solution. Supporters of prevention argue that advertisements have no benefits to society but are misleading to consumers. To promote the products or services, the advertisers usually exaggerate the functions or features. This may also result in unfair competition in the market. Advertisements that are not child friendly may also impact the mental health of young people. For example, advertisements for adult products are not appropriate for young students. Nonetheless, not all advertisements are of no value to society. Nowadays, advertisers tend to implant social value into the content instead of simply telling the features of a product. For instance, NIKE uses a story of a champion to deliver the brand value: Just do it, which inspires quite a lot of people to pursue their dreams regardless of others' criticism and obstacles, and this is quite helpful to form a positive social value. On the other hand, banning all the advertisements may cause a disruption to the economy since it has become a crucial global business. For example, the profits of giants like Facebook and Google are mainly from online advertisements. Without the advertising business, not only the big name enterprises, all companies who supply products or services to them would suffer and it is obvious that many people would lose their jobs. What is more, getting to deeper thought, if corporations cannot advertise to customers, they may lose their motivation to innovate, since their value cannot be seen widely, which will result in a slower development in a range of major fields of human life. In conclusion, despite the negative impact that advertising might bring to human society, human life can still benefit from certain kind of advertisements. Prohibition on all advertisements will influence a series of fields connected with this industry, which can arouse a disturbance in the economy and social stability.