It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university what are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, taking a year off prior to going to university is becoming an increasing trend amongst highschool seniors. This essay will present the advantages as well as the disadvantages of this trend. A sabbatical year allows future students to clear their head off before starting studying for their future career. Indeed, theses individuals use this twelve-month period to ask themselves existential questions necessary to ensure if they are heading towards the correct choice: Does the college meet their expectancies and desires? Do they have other options that they need to explore? These key questions allow them to be motivated in pursuing their bachelors. For instance, I took a break before going to a university of worldwide recognition: London School of Economics. During this time, I was able to fix my objectives for this course in addition to discovering London. This period ensured me I was making the right choice. On the contrary, years off can be quite dangerous because people tend to forget what they have learnt in highschool. Individuals become lazy and miss their work ethic and knowledge, making it hard for them to go back on the right track. For example, in a Cambridge Analitica study in 2023, the statistics illustrated that 70% of the students that have taken a gap time tend to drop out of university due to a lack of discipline which was lost during their educational break. 25% of the said potential bachelors declare having lost all their motivation due to it. Although gap periods can be devastating on the student’s intellect and motivation, I think that the advantage outweighs the disadvantage. Hence, taking a year off is beneficial for individuals that might be unsure of their choices.