Many people use social media to keep in touch with other people and for news events. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, latest information is conducted on social medias such as Facebook with their rapid developments. Instead of traditional methods, people prefer to use them as the way to obtain new information. From my perspective, in general, more advantages occur. There is a doubtless limitation for public to read news by social medias - possibility of having fake reports is relatively high because publishers are not all qualified; simultaneously, there is no supervision from the authority. Hence, if there was a fake report released, negative influence might exist. For instance, entertainment section on social medias always publishes articles about a celebrity's actions which are made up. Not only do they harm celebrities' reputation, but also occupy excess social resources. However, positive effects are various. For individuals, it is a more effective way to contact with the external world. For example, on WeChat, all public masses have their official accounts where they establish an omni-channel to provide people with services. Therefore, consumers only need to scroll their screens whenever they have leisure time and wherever they are. Moreover, from government, it is also a representation of enhancing democracy of the nation. Based on John Mill's political philosophy theory, a democratic polity should not prohibit citizens from the freedom of speech. What the social medias are capable of is allowing people to express their own ideas. Thus, for the government, it is beneficial to allow various information on the social medias. In conclusion, although there is a probobility of the existance of fake news, people can still require aquire more information in an effective way, while it is also a symbol of democracy of a government. Therefore, advantages outweigh disadvantages.