Some people think that robots are very important for human’s future development. Others, however, think that robots are a dangerous invention that could have negative effect on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the dramatic technological innovation, robots are widely used in all aspects in the world. In this case, an argument - whether robots are positive or negative - exists. In the following contents, two opinions will be analyzed and the evaluation will be presented. The advantage of this phenomenon is obvious: the increase of profitability. For firms, the usage of robots can decrease the variable costs since there is no need for robots to offer salaries and insurances. Consequently, the marginal cost of each product declines significantly, which enables producers to obtain more profits. For instance, Hongqi, a vehicle manufacturer, successfully reduced its total costs for over 30% in 2020 by hiring robots with AI technology that took over about half of its workers. However, it also creates issues. When robots are used, to reduce costs - as what has been mentioned above - companies prefer robots instead of human employees; thus, structural unemployment exists since people are taken over. This leads to various problems in both economy and society. First, when the massive unemployment occurs, a lot of people lose sources of wages, which, in a macro perspection, leads to the larger Gini Index caused by the income distribution inequality. Moreover, since individuals have no money, the only way for them to survive is becoming criminals. Therefore, the crime rate is also going to rise in an unexpected way. In conclusion, it is doubtless that the application of robots can provide firms with larger profit, while it also brings numerous unemployment rate which leads to further inequality and crime rate. Hence, benefits and limitations exist simutaneously. Robots can be used, but in a controlled and proper way such as the combination of both mankind and auto employees.