Some people view giving presents as an important way to show care to family and friends. Others think there are more important things that can be done to show care and appreciation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Humans as we are, we like to appreciate the individuals who add meaning to our lives. In doing this, we give out gifts. This can come in many forms actually, but I am not in favour of buying something for a relative or a loved one as the most vital practice of telling them we love them. There are other forms such as constant phone calls and texts as well as helping in taking care of younger ones. Firstly, when you have feelings for someone, you always have them in mind and want to do something to prove that you value them. Many individuals want to portray this by giving them gifts in the form of cars, books or even toffees. In their minds, this is a manner of saying thank you. Society has made us believe that the only approach we can use in showing appreciation to a friend is by giving them something they can feel and consume. For instance, in the African setting, it is a common thing to purchase and present bread when travelling home. This is how they believe love is portrayed, if not it is assumed you dislike them. On the other hand, phoning relatives, visiting them, and helping in taking younger ones to school and back are significant ways of telling them they mean a lot. These acts of service send a message to the recipient. Members of the family are happy when they receive help from other members and they feel a sense of belonging. For example, when a child avails himself or herself of running errands for his or her mother. This is a very important style one can tell another they are invaluable. In conclusion, presenting items as a means of showing love is essential but not as important as being serviceable.