Smoking is becoming increasingly popular among teenagers. What are the causes of this trend? What solutions can you give to this problem?

Admiring smoking by youth is increasing day by day. The influence of movies, TV, and peer pressure is the primary reason behind this trend. But this problem can be solved by increasing taxes and banning smoking advertisements. Movies have glamorised cigarettes for a long time, and as a powerful medium, they directly influence teenagers. Because they are the primary audiences for films. If they saw their favourite actor smoking, they would start imitating without giving much importance to its side effects. Like, according to the survey conducted by AIMS, India indicates that high exposure to onscreen smoking doubles a teenager's likelihood of starting. Approximately 37% to 44% of new adolescent smokers are recruited through smoking images in movies. Moreover, peer pressure also plays a significant role in youth smoking initiation. Teens often adopt smoking behaviours to align with the "cool" factor or to fit in with popular peers. If a popular peer smokes, it drastically increases the chances of others trying cigarettes. For example, my cousin brother never smoked, but since he joined college, he started smoking just because his group of friends smoked. The increasing popularity of smoking can be handled at some level by increasing the tax on cigarettes. This will raise the price of cigarette packs. Due to the high price, people will not be able to buy it, especially teenagers who depend on their parents' money for their daily needs. For instance, I quit smoking after the Canadian government increased the price of cigarettes because I found it difficult to afford them. Additionally, the government can hinder the influence of cigarettes on youngsters by restricting ads or the use of cigarettes in movies and TV. In this way, it will not come out as a cool habit and will not impact youth. In conclusion, smoking cigarettes is increasingly becoming popular. The influence of films and peer pressure are the major reasons, and prohibiting smoking scenes in movies and increasing the price are the best solutions to tackle this problem.