Smart phones and other similar electronic gadgets have reduced the contact between friends. Discuss how far you agree with this statement.

Over the past twenty years or so, the increase of smartphones and tablets such as iPhones and iPads has become more popular than ever before. Despite the fact that many users of sites such as these consider that they can help them to keep in touch with and to make new friends, a considerable number of sociologists believe that the popularity of electronic gadgets is actually reducing face-to-face meetings. This essay will discuss the reasons why I believe that even though smartphones and pads do have some benefits, their overall effects are predominantly negative for many users to reduce the contact between friends. Firstly, it can be asserted that although people often use iPhones or iPads to keep in touch with their friends, this does not mean that they do not want to see their friends face to face in their daily lives. One of the reasons for this is that smartphones can help them to keep in touch with their friends. For example, using the apps such as Instagram and Skype is significant for people to get along with their friends. In addition, many apps such as Line or Telegram can arguably increase the friend network. Another pertinent argument is that smartphones can be frequently helpful for making new friends. For instance, Facebook is widespread on smartphones for people to search for new friends who are in the same interests. However, when it comes to the popularity of electronic gadgets, it has been argued that they are actually reducing face-to-face meetings. One of the reasons for this is that electronic gadgets can usually reduce face-to-face meetings such as at school and work. For example, if one who is addicting to use electronic gadgets, it is easy to lack face-to-face meetings. Another important observation is that electronic gadgets can arguably decrease people ’s abilities to socialize. For instance, people cannot foster a sense of responsibility for teamwork, even if they cannot have important leadership abilities in real life. In conclusion, it has been claimed that even though smartphones and pads do have some benefits such as keeping in touch with and making new friends, I, therefore believe that their overall effects are undoubtedly negative for many users to reduce the contact between friends.