It is more important for school children to learn about their local history rather than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is argued that learning local history is more important than world history for school children. Although I agree with this claim from two aspects, I also think this may change in the future because of globalisation. Firstly, in my opinion, the purpose of learning history is to learn from the mistakes of our ancestors and not to repeat them. Also, we can find solutions to our current problems from history. Therefore, learning local history is more important than learning world history since it is more likely to encounter similar issues in local history. Secondly, learning local history is crucial for the development of national consciousness in children. Telling national victories and heroisms help children develop their national feelings. For this reason, many countries have national holidays, such as Independence Day in the United States. These aim to create social unity and national consciousness by reminding the society of historical victories and struggles for independence. On the other hand, while the importance of national identities and local problems is decreasing day by day with the effect of globalisation, problems affecting the whole world, such as global warming, have come to the fore. This may lead to a decrease in the importance of local history in the future and an increase in world history education. In conclusion, although I agree that learning local history is more important than learning world history in today's world, I think that if globalisation continues to develop, knowledge of world history will be as valuable as knowing local history.