Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In the past decades, public libraries were popular gathering venues where people came to look up information and borrow reading materials for study and entertainment purposes. Nonetheless, technological development nowadays seems to render conventional libraries obsolete. Therefore, it is believed that retaining those structures is a huge financial waste. From my perspective, public libraries still play a crucial role in encouraging older people to read as well as reinforcing a solid, united community. Although electronic books are more convenient, paper books stored in libraries are still valuable for senior readers. Young generations tend to prefer e-books that enable them to quickly access a wide variety of materials and read them on their smart devices. However, older people might find it challenging to keep up with all the complexities of using electronic gadgets. Hence, the seemingly outdated paper books suit them better. In other words, computer technology, despite its convenience and modernity, cannot satisfy the need of the whole community; thus, public libraries should be maintained for the sake of the old. Another reason that strengthens my belief is that public libraries help create a close-knit community. It is because people can meet and interact with their fellow residents. They will likely start a conversation and lay a stepping stone for their relationships by discussing the similarities in their reading habits. Meanwhile, if they stay home and read digitalized publications, they will not have a chance for an in-depth face-to-face conversation. Eventually, people will be drifted apart and live in solitude even though they live in the same neighbourhood. In conclusion, I admit that technological advancement can make written publications more accessible and allows people to read at ease. Nevertheless, it certainly cannot be considered a perfect replacement for public libraries where senior citizens can read in an old-fashioned way, and readers can find like-minded friends and establish relationships. Based on these arguments, I believe that public libraries should be maintained as an indispensable part of a community.