Increasing car usage in many large cities has caused a number of problems. Some cities have proposed banning private vehicles from the city centre. To what extent do you agree?

Owing to the rise in the number of private cars in large urban areas, it has been suggested by some that private vehicles should be restricted from plying major city roads. In my opinion, I disagree that private vehicular movements should be banned, as there is no sufficient infrastructure on the ground to serve as a substitute and cover for such abolishment. Firstly, banning cars from the central business districts of a number of large urban areas will actually cause additional problems due to insufficient infrastructure. This is because several commuters who rely on using their own cars for their daily activities will suddenly be required to find an alternative mode of transportation to enter the city, thus leading to an overwhelming of the existing public transportation system. For example, simply adding extra train services will not work if the train stations available cannot cope with these new commuters. Another point to consider is that there will be devastating economic consequences as many businesses in the city centres rely on private vehicles to deliver their supply timely and on daily basis. For instance, restaurants require daily food deliveries in the same way as florists need their flowers to be brought in early in the morning. The result of this will lead to the closure of these businesses. In conclusion, banning private vehicles is not a viable option as public transport services will not be able to cope with the higher demand and its effect on private businesses may lead to their failure.