Every year an increasing number of students choose to go to another country for their higher education. Do you think the benefits of this development outweigh the problem associated with it?

Over a long period of time, education has become the most powerful thing in our lives as it equips us with valuable knowledge crucial for earning careers and living. Hence, the proportion of students who prefer to study overseas to identify new skills has soared every year. Nevertheless, education overseas also brings some drawbacks, which include funds and mental health. From my perspective, I strongly believe that the benefits of this scenario outweigh the problems and will discuss both views. To begin with, going abroad may develop numerous skills apart from studying in your hometown. Firstly, studying abroad will improve teenagers’ language skills to be more proficient and facilitate students’ communication skills. For instance, it leads to more opportunities to get good careers and be capable of using foreign languages while working at organizations with a global presence. Furthermore, education overseas will help students better survival skills as a consequence of living on their own. Thus, they tend to adopt and develop self-reliant skills that would benefit them when they survive as an adult. On the other hand, it could not be denied that the weakness of getting an education overseas is money and mental illness. First of all, the program of letting children study abroad is incapable for every household. To illustrate, parents have to pay more than millions of Baht for tuition fees each year and this does not include other expenses, such as accommodation or food, which can be noticed by only wealthy families who could pay funds for their children to go overseas. Subsequently, homesickness is always the major event that sparks health problems as children who are studying abroad have to live on their own, where family members cannot come to cheer them up. As a result, this circumstance may lead to depression and make teenagers unable to concentrate well on their studies. In conclusion, a study abroad program entails a great number of advantages, but also causes a number of worrying points for teenagers. In my point of view, the benefits of studying overseas really outweigh the negative effects as these values will be beneficial for children’s whole life even when they return to their homeland.