Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road saftey. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

City streets can be very dangerous, especially in metropoles like London and New York. The streets there are always full of cars, busses and motobikes steered by uncareful drivers. One to many accidents are happenig due to their uncarefullness. It is therefore important to consider an improvement of roadsafety. Some argue, that strict punishment for driving offences is the key to it, others believe it would be more effective to set other measures. Firstly, it’s clear that a strict punishment for driving offences is absolutely necessary. It is important to understand, that the street-system has to follow rules, otherwise it won’t work. A person, for example, who never got punished for corssing a street despite of a Red-light is very likely to repeat that behavior and this behavior will sooner or later end up in an accident. It is important to give punishments, as they are a great reminder of optainig the street and traffic rules. On the other, some argue that it would be more effective to set other measures. In terms of road saftey this might include a new regualtion regulations about traffic within vived areas or maybe a set limit of vehicles allowed in ceratin areas. If, for Instance, the Government says only half as much Vehicles are allowed on streets in vived areas, only half as much accidents will happen. To conclude, to improve road safety its strict punishments for driving offences are imporant. Nevertheless could other measures, just as new regulations, help as well. In my Opinion, a mix of both would be the best.