Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

There has always been a raging debate about whether art is an important subject for children in schools or it can be neglected in the views of other important subjects. I am going to scrutinize both aspects in further paragraphs before forming an opinion in the last. To begin with, on the one side of the coin, there are many reasons for supporting other important subjects in children’s school curriculum; firstly, modern technology like computer literacy has become the need of the hour. It is one of the most demanded skills for a job in every sector. If they spend most of their time learning art they will not be able to face the cut-throat competition in this scenario. Moreover, the knowledge of essential subjects like math, and science is highly required in every field. Secondly, Art despite being highly appreciated, still does not ensure any career growth because most fields like engineering, marketing, IT professionals, and managers are found graduated and post graduated in these important subjects. On the other flip side of the coin, art is a creative skill that has wonderful imagination power. It provides the wings to the fantasy and expresses the feelings without the exchange of words. To illustrate, I have come across a painting in which the difference between the rich and poor’s plight was depicted through painting only. Moreover, music is also a piece of art and works as a healing therapy in the hectic world. Secondly, artists bring laurels to the country across the world and ensure that the cultural heritage of the country may not extinct. For this, they are highly paid and appreciated. That kind of respect is no less than a flourished career. To conclude, in my view the selections of the subjects should be left to the students in which they are interested because that very interest helps them to grow in their life.