Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that government should spend public money on saving these languages, While others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There has been a controversy about whether endangered languages should be protected by the government. I think it's a waste of money, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, those languages are extremely difficult and strict. Take Latin as an example. It was the official language of the Roman empire. However, this language is considered a dead language and only high-level educational institutions teach it nowadays. The reason is that the grammatical structure of this language was too rigorous and complex that only high educational nobles could master it; therefore, it didn't prevail among the general public. As a result, due to the extinction of the Roman empire, this language was gradually extincted as well. In this case, it would be an ill-advised decision certainly if the government planned to "resurrect" this language. Second, endangered languages represent outmode. It has been reported that many Chinese dialects are in danger of extinction. I think it is not a bad thing because these dialects derived from poor transportation in ancient China. On account of terrible public transport, most people could only stay in the place where they were born; hence, my forefathers invented a local special language in order to give the local residents an identity. Nevertheless, because of developed transportation, people can go anywhere they want nowadays basically. At this point, dialects are considered the signs of isolation and under-development. On the other hand, languages are the witnesses of history; it's our responsibility to preserve our history and it's our duty to prevent them from being extinct. In this case, were the government to spend money on saving these endangered languages, it would be better. In conclusion, I believe the demerits of spending money on saving endangered languages outstrip their merits.