Today more and more tourist are visiting places where condition are difficult such as Sahara or the Antarctic. Discuss advantage and disadvantage for tourist who visit these places.

There has been a controversy about whether tourism is helpful to places where conditions are difficult. I think its demerits outweigh its merits, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, it can worsen the local resource shortage. It's expected that in order to develop local tourism, accommodation and transportation are of the utmost importance. Therefore, many buildings, such as hotels and stations, are required to build. However, all those functional buildings are pricy and cost numerous resources, like water resources and electronic resources. They can cause or worsen the resource shortage locally, especially in places with difficult conditions, like Sahara. Second, tourism can destroy the local ecosystem. As mentioned in the last paragraph, so as to satisfy tourists' wishes, countless functional buildings are required to build. Nevertheless, the land area is limited; hence, if more stores are built up; in other words, the living space for animals will be deducted. Take the Amazon forest as an example. According to some statistical figures, the Amazon forest decreased by 200,000 square meters from 2003 to 2010. In this case, innumerable animals lost their habitats on account of our greed for tourism. On the other hand, tourism has some advantages as well. For example, tourism can propel local economic development. The money gained from tourism can be used to promote local infrastructures, such as hospitals and schools. As a result, there will be an increase in the local residents' living standards. In conclusion, I believe the disadvantages of developing tourism in places with challenging conditions outstrip its advantages.