Technology is being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

The education system is forever changing with technology playing a larger role in recent years. This essay will discuss the advantages of having access to a broader range of information and how useful tech can be in the classroom. It will also debate the opposing side of the argument, in which the risk of pupils becoming reliant on external sources and plagiarism could hinder learning. Firstly, if students are given the opportunity to use the internet for assignments, they would have a higher chance of being successful in their work. That is to say, the internet is filled with a vast quantity of information like articles and research papers, that if accessible at our fingertips, could prove to be an incredible asset. It could help individuals gain a deeper understanding of the tasks they're given at school and therefore they will do better. secondly, using technology in the classroom may aid teachers in their job. This is because inventions like the smartboard allow professors to make lessons more interactive which will interest children more and as a consequence increase the amount of information they will retain. This was proven in a study done in 2019 of 30 schools in the UK. Those that utilised the smartboard in classes saw 46% higher grades compared to those that didn’t. on the other hand, the pitfalls of technology use include the temptation of plagiarism and the increasing reliance on technology. A big problem with easier access to the internet, is students will find themselves with the moral dilemma of whether to take the easy way out and pass off online resources as their own or invest energy into schoolwork. Many individuals will succumb to the temptation, and this means more money and time needs to be set aside to check for plagiarism, which wouldn't be an issue in the absence of technology. for example, in recent years there has been a 43% rise in investment in plagiarism tools by schools. With the rise in popularity of using spellcheck and thesauruses to help with writing in schools, people have stopped challenging themselves to learn these skills themselves. This could have the dangerous outcome of an increased number of adults lacking skills that are essential to the workplace. in conclusion, there are both positives and negatives attached to technology use in the education system, on the upside, students have access to a wide range of resources to aid schoolwork and teachers have more options to keep children interested. however, more attention to plagiarism has to be paid and adults are losing skills due to becoming more reliant on the internet.