With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper book some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Reading hardcovers is now a declined art than it once was, due to the rise in technology. This essay will state that its main advantages are that e-books are a more convenient and ecological format. Whereas, its primary disadvantages are that there are now a declined number of readers as well as increased health impacts. The main advantage of an electronic book is the fact that you are able to easily transport it where ever you go, as well as producing less environmental waste. Being able to carry an entire story in your bag, either on your phone or an iPad, without additional weight is superior. More dominance is also imposed by greater climate benefits. E-books produce less waste. This is most evident in a study carried out by Denmark stating that ever since the popularisation of computer copies there is 65% less excess paper being churned out to pollute the earth. However, there are also drawbacks to the decrease of the old-fashioned way of reading; the primary one being a steep decline in readers itself, as well as an additional reason for an increase in screen time. Numerous avid readers are unable to adjust themselves to the new form of reading. This has led them to avoid reading altogether, as it no longer has the charm a good paper book has. Alongside this, the inclusion of an extra screen for long hours such as a kindle has added to the paramount pressure on our eyes. As showcased by the John Hopkins institute, in their recent research, where there was direct causation between reading online books and worsening eyesight, which is a long-term impact of shifting books from paper to the computer. In Conclusion, the dwindling of paper copies brings about an enormous win for the climate and people who like reading on the go but, comes at a loss for individuals who love the smell of a good old book and their eyesight.