Some people think that platic shopping bags should be banned because they contribute to land and sea pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the major cause of pollution is plastic bags.I completely agree with this statement as it pollutes both lands as well as the sea equally. Firstly,these bags are non-biodegradable.To explain it,these plastic bags are not decomposed easily so the chemical realised from plastic remains on earth for hundreds of years which is harmful to both humans as well as animals because they consume these chemicals directly or indirectly which affects their bodies. For instance,an article was published in "The Hindu" newspaper which shows how these chemicals affect our bodies. As a result,many countries impose strict bans on using plastic bags. Secondly,harmful to living as well as marine creatures. To explicate it,as these particles can not dissolve easily so they will harmful to both living and marine creatures and responsible for untimely death.It will not deteriorate the health only but the environment as well.These bags block the sewer and drain especially in rains which creates situations like floods and disrupts normal life. For example,every year In Mumbai during times of rain there is always a situation like floods due to these sewerage problems. To conclude, many countries should strictly impose a ban and Liev some taxes on using plastic bags.But on the ground,level it is still in use.Government imposes bans but we should also understand the harmful effects of using plastic bags on our environment as well as our living.So it is the responsibility of individuals only then this problem should be resolved.