Young people who commit serious crime should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It has been a controversial topic when it comes to whether juveniles should receive the same standards of punishment as same as adults if they commit a serious crime. while some people think young people should have a second chance, I believe they need to be punished equally as adults. First and foremost, it is unfair to the victims who were harmed by the juveniles. The reasons for the severe sentences are not only to punish the criminal but also to give consolations to the victims or their families. For instance, a murderer only sentence to 20 years because he is under 18 years old would have a strong impact on the family of the victim. They cannot feel the justice of society and may live under the pressure for the rest of their lives. Therefore, such violent crimes should carry the harshest sentence in order to protect ordinary people. Nevertheless, juveniles are not fully responsible for their actions and they need re-education, not punishment. It is true that slight punishments are suitable for young people who made some mistakes, their bad behaviors are easier to change when they are young. Ironically, it is completely different when young people commit serious crimes. People with that kind of violent nature should be removed from society as early as possible. Most of the teenagers who are able to do violent crimes are fully aware of their actions and know the rules of society. Consequently, a crime is a crime regardless of age. In conclusion, although there are some voices about being lenient toward the young people who commit serious crimes, I believe they should be punished in the same way as adults.