In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Despite the reduction in high-degree crimes, the public in certain countries still does not feel secure. Some of the reasons for this insecurity are the advancements in technology and the lack of awareness of most people on the traffic rules. This can be prevented with strict laws enforced on digital transactions and fines. The primary reason for this less-safer environment is the developments in technology which on the one hand help unite and connect people across the nations, on the other hand, have paved way for offences through the internet such as forgery. An example of this is the fake accounts on social media, when connected with them, entire money from one’s bank account will be gone. Another reason for a non-safe environment is the traffic rule violations leading to a number of crashes and deaths. Though most people follow the traffic rules and regulations enforced, it is due to the minority section that doesn't follow these rules these accidents occur. The offences through digital media can be reduced with the governments enforcing strict rules. Rules governing the exchange of media and messages should be laid and when apps that do not restrict such content exchange should be banned. For instance, in India, the apps Tik-Tok and Pub-G were banned as they were found offensive by the social volunteers and the government banned them. For the traffic-related issues, severe fines should be posed to the public who disobey the laws. This will be effective because people would not prefer to spend their money if it is not being spent for their comfort or needs. In conclusion, people in certain societies do not feel protected even though there are no or less severe crimes. In my opinion, this mindset has raised due to technological developments and road-related accidents. When the government brings in severe laws for the transactions being made online and collects fines that people would find it hard to pay will reduce these incidents and make the place safer to live.