Eating too much of sugar is harmful for health. Some people think it is government's responsibility to limit people's sugar consumption while others think it is individual's responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that sugar is harmful to health. The responsibility, however, of who is accountable for the negative effects of sugar, is up for debate. Some believe it is the government's prerogative to curb people's sugar consumption, whereas others argue it is up to each individual to limit the amount of sugar they eat. This essay will discuss that, although the government could introduce some initiatives, ultimately sugar intake is the responsibility of the individual. To start, many insist that the responsibility for sugar intake falls upon the government. They believe initiatives should be put into place to encourage the public to opt for healthier, more nutritious and less sugary foods. A result of this is that individuals will increase the number of healthy foods they consume in exchange for the previously sugary snacks they used to eat. Although I agree with the sentiment of this statement, I feel it would be impossible for the government to control the decisions an individual makes. For instance, the introduction of a sugar tax in busy supermarkets, although a positive action, has had an underwhelming effect on the reduction in sugar consumption amongst the public. This is due to drinking companies only reducing the sugar level to just below the acceptable mark. Therefore, it is up to individuals to not choose fizzy drinks but to reach for water instead. Secondly, others think it is the responsibility of an individual to limit their sugar intake. This is based on the idea of health autonomy. In that everyone makes their own decisions in relation to their health. some will want to eat and buy lots of sugary snacks but others will choose not to. I agree that no matter the actions of the government, ultimately, it is the choice of each person, what they want to put into their body. This responsibility shouldn't be passed on to anyone else. Despite the vast number of fast food options available, some will cook at home while others succumb to the temptation. For example, there has been a 40% rise in the cases of diabetes according to a study done by the Washington Post in 2021, this is despite the recent amendments made by the government to combat an increasing sugar intake. In conclusion, some believe the government could encourage healthier eating by promoting healthy eating initiatives. It is, however, only an individual that can influence how much sugar they eat.