Young people are often influenced by their behaviours and situations by others in the same age.This is called peer pressure.Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

The behavioural study has been proposing the phenomenon which is called peer pressure. In other words, some children's actions are influenced by their surroundings such as friends and parents. In my opinion, its disadvantages outweigh the advantages and will discuss below. To begin with, numerous students suffer from stress when trying to imitate their colleagues. This leads to unavoidable serious consequences.In some situations, they have to get along with the current social trends, yet they actually do not want to do. For example, body tattooing is becoming popular among teenagers, so various types of patterns are inscribed for showing their interests.Unfortunately, there may be a few members who have painted their bodies for acceptance of their gangsters. Thereby, such pressures create an enormous impact on the self-esteem of the youth. In addition, parents usually push their children to compete with their friends in various aspects. Activities such as extra-class tutoring, learning to dance, and training in famous sports are assigned because of social pressure.It is undeniable that this is the cause of losing childhood happiness. For instance, Thai parents always send their children to learn as many academic subjects as the time is available.The purpose of this phenomenon is just only to be superior to their friends. As a result, numerous students are diagnosed with mental problems such as major depressive disorder. Consequently, peer pressure contributes to the negative effects on children's moods. In conclusion, the childhood period is a critical time for developing both physical and mental well-being.Any tension from friends plays an important role in developing unpleasant emotions and low self-confidence.To minimize these unwanted outcomes, it is essential to encourage the children to be proud of themselves and confident with their identity.