In many countries, too much money was spent by government and individuals on national celebration such as New Year and religious festivals. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is often argued that spending amount of money on national celebrations such as New year and various kinds of festivals by the government or individuals today. As far as I am concerned, although there might be arguments supporting that is wasteful to spend an amount of money to conduct these festivals. I completely agree with the statement on this expense and this essay will discuss my personal opinions regarding the government's output on national events. First of all, Festival events have a vital connection with the cultural identity of the communities who celebrate them. One of the first benefits of this situation is to improve people's mindset on how important cultural identity and cultural recognition are. In this sense, if these events were not held in society, it would cause a lack of understanding of cultural distinctive lifestyles that are associated with and they will go extinct. For example, in my country, Indonesia, the government often held festival ceremonies in society every month. As a result, various kinds of cultures in Indonesia are still preserved which can be implemented for people's lifestyles. On the other hand, despite the advantages, there are also drawbacks for the government that needed to be concerned about. The negative side would be that the outlay can be spent on other aspects which have an enormous impact on the community directly. This would mean that the capital can be gifted to the development of public facilities such as transportation, medical centre etc. For instance, in my country's neighbour, Singapore, the state tends to spend an amount of capital on public facilities in order to have good quality services rather than spending their capital on the national celebrations that make people who live in Singapore feel comfortable and convenient as well. To sum up, I belives that spending a lot of cost on festival activities indeed gives benefits to society. However, the higher authorities who control the country's expenditure should also keep balancing between national celebrations and other aspects.