Some people believe that children of all ages should have extra responsibilities. Other believe that, outside of school, children should be free to enjoy life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some argue that it is the responsibility of young people to help their parents at home or at work after school, others believe that they should get their freedom to enjoy time after school. I will discuss both notions and explain why I agree with the latter. To begin with, there are some explanations for why children should take on extra responsibilities when they are not at school. Firstly, children should help with household chores. Not only that it helps their parents, who are very tired after a long day of work, but it will also develop their household skills. In addition, some parents own businesses, and children can come to work during leisure time at the shops to gain more experience for instance. Clearly, it all helps the young to be more responsible and mature. Despite the above, I deem that children should have their free time after school to explore their strengths. At school, they are already restricted with all the boundaries of what to learn. Hence, it is vital to give them freedom at home so that they can discover and reach their best potential. For example, they can try different sports from football to basketball or learn new skills like dancing and skating that are suited to their interests and capabilities. If children have to listen to their parents about what to do all the time, it will harm their independence and decision-making ability. In conclusion, with the aforementioned, although children may gain some potential merits associated with added responsibilities, they will develop better with more freedom outside the academic environment. Hence, I believe that parents should let them decide on activities to do with their out-of- school time.