It is often said that crime is one of the main things that make the quality of life poorer. Crime in developed countries is one of the biggest problems in society. What are the causes of this problem and what measures can be taken to reduce it?

In contemporary society, disruption of law and order has become a menace to social well-being, especially in developed countries. This essay explores the possible causes of criminal activities and some possible remedial actions that can be sought. To begin with, one of the major causes of crime is unemployment and the soaring cost of living. To make money, many youngsters seek illegal activities as their first choice, when they fail to find a normal job. For instance, some students, who came to the UK, were arrested for illicit drug trade and when they were interrogated, they replied that they could not afford living because they could not find a job. In addition, radicalisation is another main issue which causes the crime rates to soar. Recently, many crimes that happened in the UK are terrorism-related cases. For example, there were many riots happened in the town of Leicestershire between two radicalised groups. On the other hand, the state and individuals can resort to some preventive measures to stop criminal offences. Authorities can create jobs for the youth and encourage them to start their own businesses if they cannot find a job, by sanctioning loans. So unemployment will be less and as a consequence of this, the crime rate will reduce. Moreover, individuals can share the awareness of deradicalisation and report any victims to the police early. By doing so, such offences can be curtailed. The best example of this is PREVENT programme in the UK. Almost all the public-facing jobs require training in PREVENT, which is surveillance training to identify people who are radicalised. To conclude, societal harmony is well balanced when illegal activities are less. The best way to curb this is to address the key issues leading to the same.