More and more adults have continued to live with their parents for many years after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages of this choice outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a trend in many countries that many young adults continue to live with their families after they have stable work and life. It is a controversial topic and some people believe it benefits both generations. In my opinion, I agree with these people and I think this tendency has more benefits than drawbacks. First and foremost, living with the elderly could significantly lower the living cost for both young adults and their parents. To be more specific, young adults do not need to pay rent and other basic living costs individually. Instead of paying more than half a portion of their salary on rent, they could use that money to share the electric and gas bill with their parents. Therefore, both parties could benefit from living together and save money for the future. Furthermore, the advantages of living together not only focus on the economic area but also improve living quality for each other. For instance, the elderly may have some medical conditions and need help from their child. Living together could ensure they have people to count on if they have an emergency. Nevertheless, young adults need to learn to be independent as soon as possible. Living with parents may lead to a continuous habit of depending on parents when they face some difficulties, which is not an ideal circumstance for them to start their own family after years. Consequently, although living with parents has lots of benefits for both parties, there are still some drawbacks that need to be avoided. In conclusion, the younger generations choose to live with the elderly even if they completed their education is a trend in some societies. And it certainly shows more advantages than disadvantages and its benefits for young people and their parents.