A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At present, natural oil is the primary source of energy that powers the world economy. However, there is a notion that the world has been spending excessively on oil exploration, and it suggests that the money should be utilised in a better way to fund innovations that could generate alternative energy sources such as wind and solar power. I totally agree with the idea that we should spend more money to develop renewable sources of power because it would mitigate the effects of global climate change. One of the reasons is that using renewable energy is the most effective way to combat global warming. By turning our reliance on more sustainable energy sources, such as solar and wind, we will produce less CO2. Then, our world would become greener and more favourable to live in. For example, when a person decides to use an EV car instead of a petrol one, he will produce less CO2, which as a result would be less harmful to our environment. If a million people decide to do the same, the impact would be massive. However, some might say that it would affect the global economy since it takes time and resources to develop new sources of clean energy. In particular, it takes plenty of time to generate a certain amount of energy needed to function in a factory, while it is easier and quicker for factory owners to use fossil fuels to produce the power. Despite this appeal, I believe that it is better that we try to utilise more environmentally friendly resources so as to reduce the impact of CO2 emissions on our environment. In conclusion, although some might argue that we should still use natural gas to fuel our economy, I think our earth deserves better treatment, and using renewable energy would be the best option to ensure that it remains green.