Task 2: To succeed in business, one needs to learn and know math. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that mathematical knowledge is needed for individuals to flourish in the business environment. While I believe knowing math can support entrepreneurs significantly, I am more convinced that it is not necessary to learn math to achieve business goals. On the one hand, a great familiarity with mathematical concepts can give business people a competitive advantage. To begin with, managers who have strong knowledge of calculation can easily control their businesses’ financial figures. Therefore, this can help them to make realistic decisions related to sales growth, budget management and investment attraction strategies. For example, on Shark Tank, a TV program allowing start-up founders to connect with potential investors, start-up companies that can show understanding of their businesses’ financial status, based on math calculation, usually get chances to receive a massive amount of investment. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the success of businesses does not entirely rely on math knowledge. Firstly, thanks to technology development, various tools of computation and visualization are built, which are not only user-friendly but also able to illustrate financial data and trends. These tools allow people without finance-related backgrounds to understand figures by visualization. In this case, the decision-making process can depend more on business understanding and market insights rather than focusing on calculation. Besides, businesses can seek support from third -party financial services, who are experts in related fields such as tax and accounting, so that companies can concentrate on business core activities including product development, marketing, boosting sales or operations to reach their targets. To summarize, I agree that a good grasp of math can contribute to entrepreneurs’ success. However, I am more convinced that businesses can also attain their goals without deep math understanding by asking for the support of technology tools and financial experts.