2. Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

It is true that an increasing number of people have a tendency of starting a family in their life. There are several reasons behind this development and this trend has a significant impact on both society and family life. There are two main reasons why more and more young people postpone having offspring. Firstly, many youngsters consider building their own career a top priority. If they had to split their time between upbringing their kids and working when they were in the early stages of their career, their performance at work, as well as their promotion prospects, could be negatively affected. Therefore, rather than embarking on parenthood, these youngsters would devote most of their time contributing to their careers. Secondly, delaying childbirth might give young people opportunities to enjoy their life. As a matter of fact, they would have more time to build up a richer social life or pursue their interest if they have children in their later future. However, this development may have some detrimental effects on society and family life on the whole. A problem concerning family life is that it might be difficult for old parents to raise their offspring. To elucidate, the generation gap between parents and their children would get wider when parents get older, which might act as a deterrent when old parents want to communicate with or relate to their kids. Another negative factor is that getting pregnant after 35 years of age oftentimes carries more potential health risks. Specifically, this could increase the danger of having a miscarriage or stillbirth for older mothers, and babies might be at greater risk of having Down’s syndrome. Consequently, this could negatively affect the quality of the future workforce. In conclusion, there are a number of reasons why more and more people prefer giving birth later in life. As a result, there could be negative influences on individual families and society at large.