Research has shown that consumerism is a major problem of the young generation due to the effect of the media. why and what are the consequences?

In this day and age, consumer spending is greatly affected by the use of media influencing the youngsters leading towards a considerable concern. There are certain reasons to this phenomenon and its aftermath. Firstly, media is ubiquitous nowadays, making their way to convey consumers to splurge on goods and services. The vulnerable millennials are in great trouble because of the different social media platforms that serves also as a tool for advertisers to endorse their brands. Facebook and Instagram, for instance, made their way to sell products on-sites by posting the links or they can just buy it on the website itself. Thus, this trend makes young adults to have an impulsive buying behaviours. Secondly, the media has made the younger generation to imitate their favorite celebrities through different social media platforms as well. With this, they would have to buy what brands and designs are being advertised so that they would feel that somehow they were able to display the same way like how their idols do. Moreover, the feeling of missing out on the latest trends is one factor also that drives young people to disburse their money on. This is a result of their peers pressing them to keep up with everyone else. The acquisition of such material possessions like the latest iPhone and Apple Watch on the market make them want to have it as well which media are continuously trying to attract people. With all the reasons stated above comes the consequences to these actions. The number one end result of such tendency if for the youngsters to be buying unnecessary stuff instead of buying basic necessities like food. Another consequence would be, the youngsters would feel isolated and out of date if they are unable to purchase what are popular nowadays. In conclusion, although consumerism is of great benefit for businesses and the economy of a country, it is of major issue on the part of millennials with the help of media making them waste funds on unnecessary stuff.