Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar; which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar nowadays which could cause many health problems. Some people consider that sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Consuming too much sugar is harmful to our body's health, whereas I do not think making sugary products more expensive is the proper to deal with this problem. First of all, the circumstances right now are based on people's choices. In the past, before the revolution of the sugary industry, sugar was considered a luxury which was only affordable for the riches. The higher consumption is linked to higher production, in other words, it becomes cheaper and cheaper. This means that people could gain energy easily from the development of the sugary industry which significantly reduces the possibility of people suffering from hunger and lack of energy. Therefore, this is not a totally bad phenomenon as all these kinds of sugar products could provide us with an important resource for nutrition gaining. On the other hand, it is true that too much sugar could harm our health. However, it is not the best way to raise their prices as it could harm many poor families. In my point of view, there are two choices. Firstly, reduce the proportion of sugar inside those products to reach the goal of less sugar consumption. Another one is to develop and search for better substitutions like zero calory sugar, which could provide sweet flavour but no consumption of calories. For instance, the market for zero sugar is getting larger and larger and it has even become a fashion in society. The success of ZERO COCA is a vivid example of this. In conclusion, I do admit the consumption of sugar should be limited and reduced. While I don't think it is good to make sugary products to be more expensive. There are other ways to reach this goal and finally be better for our physical health.