Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Over the past few decades, unprecedented discoveries in the importance of recycling have taken the world by storm. It is often argued that governments should shoulder more responsibilities in terms of preserving the environment. From my perspective, authorities can enhance the situation by coming up with new obligatory rules, which will be discussed in this essay. One indisputable prerequisite for enforcing citizens to recycle is to legalise regulations. Such demand can only be done by the legislative power and executive officials. Thus, it is both a privilege and an obligation for governments to set up a series of rules for the public to obey when recycling. Lack of consistency is another potential threat if the governments sit idly by. Successful and efficient recycling requires substantial organising. Therefore, governments entitled to deploy national resources are phenomenal in establishing the process of recycling. For instance, China, has segmented recycled items by materials into 9 categories. Such policy has an exceptional impact on shortening the time for later collecting and tackling. Some people may insist that recycling is a waste of money since the process is time-consuming and costly. Admittedly, recycling requires substantial money and manpower. However, litter were generated by no one but human beings. Despite recycling could be expensive, humans should consider this as redemption in order to create a better environment for our further generations and beyond. By way of conclusion, I believe the benefits of recycling far outweigh its drawbacks. Moreover, global authorities should announce and teach the people that recycling is obligatory.