Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is common to see that some children are obsessed with their cell phones on a daily basis. In this article, I will analyse the reasons for this phenomenon, and I believe this is a negative trend. Multiple reasons can be explained in this case. In the first place, smart devices have powerful functions that children can utilise in a variety of ways. For instance, they can purchase anything or chat with their friends via social media. In addition, smartphones make it easier to get access to all sorts of information, and children prefer to look for resources through their phones rather than in the library. Apart from that, parents also set a bad influence on their children. It is true that many parents spend an excessive amount of time on social media too, such as watching TikTok or checking the news, which their children will learn from their parents. As a consequence, children think it is right to spend hours on their phones. I concede that digital devices have made people's life more convenient, they also can help children with their homework and keep in contact with their friends and family. However, if children spend too much time on their smartphones, this will adversely affect their studies and mental and physical well-being. For example, some of them are not willing to make friends in reality or enjoy outdoor activities because they prefer to play on their phones. Not to mention focusing on their studies. To sum up, smartphones are beneficial to children's life to some extent, but it is disadvantageous for development if children do not know how to control them.