People in many countries do not wear their traditional costume. Some argue that they would forget their history and tradition. Do you agree or disagree?

One cannot run from tradition. Tradition is important because it communicates where someone comes from and thus his or her origin. In fact, I agree with those who argue that not wearing ornaments and clothes to portray your origin will result in individuals forgetting their past and tradition. In this essay, I'll highlight the reasons. Firstly, putting on items that speak of where you come from actually reminds you of where you are from. When people have things around them, they tend to reflect on and remember the stories behind their existence. For example, 'kente' is an African ornament and the story of how the first man wove it is intriguing such that anyone who wears a dress made of kente's mind draws back to it thus one can always remember their culture and past if they have items that remind them of it on. In addition, people tend to ask questions about new things they see. Putting on stuff that portrays one's culture will get other people interested in knowing about them. In other to be successful in answering their questions, one will always have their past in mind. Also, in cases where they have no answers to certain questions asked by other individuals, they tend to research thus increasing their knowledge about their origin and past and also developing an interest in them. In conclusion, putting on clothes, jewellery etc that speak a person's culture will help them to always remember their past because they always get to reflect and talk about them.