In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

In large cities, lack of vacant lands and space has become a major issue to build new houses, and some argue that the cities should grow toward rural areas. However, others and I are having concerns regarding this belief. Destructing the countryside would affect the economy as well as threatens the life of wild animals who live there. Both ideas will be extensively analyzed and discussed. The food industry and its economy is mostly dependent on rural areas, and building houses as a result of growth in large cities would hardly affect them. For example, most of our daily whole food and goods are produced in the countryside, although they might be processed in urban areas. Constructing houses would definitely interrupt the agricultural process, while the rich lands would be replaced with concrete dwellings. As a result, many people residing in such regions would lose their jobs, hence their lands and economic power. Moreover, with the advent of megacities, wildlife has been pushed toward the countryside. Many wild animals left the cities to live in less populated regions, and the growth of urban areas limited their environment to live in. For instance, in the north of Iran, tigers moved away from their habitat due to moving folks and residing in their regions. Accordingly, they lost their food and water resources which they relied on and this fact lead to their extinction in addition to other factors. In conclusion, even though space is a significant issue which prevents people to build their homes, moving to rural places should not be done before thinking about its consequences.