Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a spurring debate among the masses concerning the accessibility of free university education to all students irrespective of their financial status. While some assert that the government should give liberty to everyone, I personally completely agree with this opinion. On the one hand, those who are of the school of thought that individuals studying at colleges and universities should be responsible for paying fees state their reason as huge funds required for the administration of these institutes. For example, Funding is required for constructing and maintaining infrastructures like buildings, libraries and Computer labs and government cannot allocate the entire budget to all these things. Secondly, giving free education will not help in deferring the meritorious students, who actually studied hard to secure their position in the educational institute to those who took the admission process for granted. On the contrary, many studious and hardworking students often lack financial aid. This hampers their further studies and thus their future growth. For instance, most of the ingenious minds in the history of India belonged to the lower income class group, who had struggled a lot to reach the summit of their career. Also, education is the necessity of every human being in order to survive in this ever-growing VUCA world and therefore, must be bestowed to every person no matter their monetary condition. To illustrate, schools and undergrad colleges in Kerala offer education at no cost to all enrolled students along with scholarships to exemplary children. To conclude, I believe that education is the birthright of every human being and therefore must be made free for all irrespective of the individual's economic background.