The government is spending a lot of money discovering life on other planets. Some people think that the government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of the public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, space exploration for organisms has never failed to draw attention as well as provoke heated debates among the public. Despite the prejudices against this activity, I firmly believe that it is crucial and should be encouraged. Firstly, universal research has an enormous significance in terms of the future existence of the entire species. Obviously, searching for living forms in outer space is synonymous with seeking a livable environment outside the earth where humans and other creatures can inhabit, which may become an optimal solution for issues such as overpopulation as well as the depletion of resources. For example, space scientists have conducted countless research on Mars to see if there are any signs of the existence of organisms in hope that this planet will be able to accommodate residents from the earth. Therefore, it would be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that space exploration has played a key role in the future of humankind. Secondly, the exploration may lead to the discovery of a new civilisation, which may be an important factor in the overall development of human beings. By encountering a highly developed creature, humans wish to earn opportunities to learn more about them, thereby gaining insights into technologies and other aspects which is beneficial in enhancing the life quality on the earth and accelerating the pace of advancement. Therefore, it is not an exaggeration to assert that space research as well as space science in general are illustrations of the desire of mankind to advance beyond any limit. An example of this justification is that scientists have attempted to find and communicate with other civilisations by dispatching signals across the universe in hope that there will be responses someday. In conclusion, exploration in space has taken an important role in the future existence and development of human beings and all species on the earth as well. In my opinion, this form of activity is worthy and needs to be strongly supported.