The government is spending a lot of money discovering life on other planets. Some people think that governments are wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of the public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, exploration of stars and galaxies for organisms has never failed to draw attention as well as provoke heated debates among the public. Despite the prejudices against this practice, I firmly believe that it is necessary and should be approved. Firstly, the study of the universe has an enormous significance in terms of the future existence of the entire human. Obviously, searching for living forms in outer space is synonymous with seeking a livable environment outside the Earth where humans can inhabit, which may become an optimal solution for issues such as overpopulation and the depletion of resources. For example, scientists have conducted countless research on Mars concerning whether there are any signs of the existence of organisms in hope that this planet will be able to accommodate residents from Earth. Therefore, it would be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that space discovery is essential to humankind. Secondly, the overall development of human beings can be attributed to the search for extraterrestrial organisms. By encountering highly developed creatures, humans wish to earn opportunities to learn more about them, thereby gaining insights into technologies and other aspects which is beneficial in enhancing the life quality on the Earth and accelerating the pace of advancement. Hence, it is not an exaggeration to assert that space science, especially universal exploration, is the manifestation of the desire of mankind to advance beyond any limit. To illustrate, scientists have sought to communicate with alien civilisations by dispatching signals across the universe, hoping there will be responses someday. In conclusion, the examination of the universe has taken an important role in the future existence and development of human beings. In my opinion, this form of activity is worthy and should be unconditionally advocated.